Here to St. Petersburg in 25 minutes
I had a really nice meal last night. We went to a different place than usual. This place called St Petersburg and as you might expect with a name like that, it was a Russian restaraunt.

The menu was pretty much nothing but meat. My kind of menu. For starters, I chose something called "Blini", which is a savoury pancake and inside it was chicken. Very very nice. I could have easily had a few of those for a main course. Instead, for my main course, I had steak in a honey and blackcurrant sauce. Very interesting taste. Really nice.

After we'd eaten, a Russian woman danced in front of everyone. I kind of felt a little sorry for her actually because no one was actually that bothered about her and just carried on eating their food. She continued smiling though! My Mum and Gary thought she looked like a man, but I couldn't see it myself. I thought she looked quite pretty actually.

No matter where Gary goes, he seems to know everyone. He knew the owner of this restaraunt too and he finds it so easy to strike up conversation with anyone. He bought the whole staff a drink and some random strangers. It's really strange to watch. He also convinced me to down a shot of Russian vodka. It doesn't really bother me doing it.

There's a lot about Gary that I don't know, nor do I want to know. He has an extremely dark past that I don't even want to write about here because well, it's a dangerous past and every time he talks about it, I make it a point to try and not listen because it makes me really uncomfortable knowing that kind of stuff. Part of me thinks that he's making it up, but since he seems to know people pretty much everywhere, parts of it I do believe and it makes me really cautious when we go to new places. Gary is a really nice guy, but I would really really hate anyone to get on his bad side with his past. And I'm talking more than like, a quick punch-up...

But I'm going to end that there.

Anyway, we were there until about 10:30pm and Gary talked to the manager throughout the night. When we left, the manager shook both Gary's hand and then my Mum's. They're well known there. I was the last one out. The manager did not shake my hand.

I got a cab home after that and my Mum and Gary went back to the apartment. I had a nice night.

Hannah, the girl I'm meeting on Thursday had her prom last night. She went with one of her ex-boyfriends who she said she didn't like any more. Apparantly they were sharing a room too and I was really scared that maybe they'd get back together or something. This morning however, I've been talking to her and she said that all of the time she was there, she was thinking of me. That made me smile a lot. So it looks like I'm still meeting her and I can't wait.

I'm going to Newcastle on Wednesday for my final interview. Unfortunately, I have to take the train this time and it's going to be on my own. Ugh. Four hours on a train for a 20 minute interview and then all of the way back home again. I'm going to spend a total of eight hours on the train. I did think about staying over in Newcastle, but then I wouldn't be able to meet Hannah the next day and I defintiely don't want to postpone it.

So, like my previous entry, things are still going pretty good. I can't wait to meet Hannah and then it's my birthday a week later and if we like each other, she said she'll be coming out with me for it. All good!

comment