I have a life, but she doesn't know
And things go back to normal. Unfortunately my idea of normal is the one where my Mum doesn't leave to go back to Gary's just now.

Even though she'll probably never quite realise that I've appreciated her being her, I'm glad that she was. It also meant that I could give her her Christmas present last night and she really liked it. I was really glad. I wanted it to be something special, rather than something expensive. There's definitely a difference.

This is what I gave her, or rather part of it. It's actually a kind of canvas scroll, with that picture on the front of it which is on two playing cards. Two aces. Underneath it says "What a pair". She seemed to like it a lot.

I felt guilty that I ended up spending most of yesterday in bed, rather than in her company but I had been up all of the night before and though I didn't actually mean to sleep until 8pm, I did.

Last night, while watching Jerry Maguire together, we talked. It was mostly about how me and Laura don't get on anymore. She asked me one of the questions I ask myself too.

"Who buys the cleaning stuff? Just stuff for the house?", she asked.
"Me", I said.
"Do you?", she said surprised.

She knows as well as I do that Laura lives here as well and she has plenty of money to buy that kind of stuff, but just doesn't and waits until I do. This is especially true of washing powder, of which I have a box in my cupboard, rather than in the kitchen where it should be used fairly and then whoever didn't buy that box should buy the next one. Instead, Laura now buys liquitab thingies for herself and yet I know that if I put a box of washing powder where it usually is, she'd start using it even though it's not hers to use and she knows she hasn't bought any. How is that fair?

My Christmas wasn't very special, but it did make for a nice 'normal' night at least, being able to sit with my Mum and talk. Something which hasn't happened since she moved out. As a Christmas present, she gave me �160 and �30 off Gary. I didn't like taking it but I did because the truth is that I need it.

This morning, I've been trying to explain to her things about what happens when I go to University and things like the cost of it. She isn't really around enough to tell her about my life anymore. It was nice to update her.

She also said that if I need money to go and visit any of the other Universities that I've applied for that she'd give me the money to do so, even though it might be as much as, say, �150 to do it each time. This includes stuff like my train fare, hotel for the night and food. I was planning on visiting Universities before I applied for them but I just couldn't afford to do so and so I picked the ones that sounded good on paper. When/If (WHEN hopefully) I get an interview at one, that's when I'll go and see them.

How was your Christmas? How did you spend it? Did you give/recieve anything nice? I hope you had a nice one.

comment