The longest journey in a car I'll make
Change of plan slightly. Instead of me and Rob going up to Newcastle via train, what is now happening is that his mum is driving us straight to Cumbria.

I wasn't so keen on this idea to begin with and I'm still not really but I really want to see what the university is like and this is the only real way of doing so.

In addition, because we have to leave so early in the morning to get there for the tour at 12:30pm, it means that I have to stay over at Rob's the night before. This also means that I have to go with him to a concert that he is playing (he plays trumpet). Rob's a nice guy and stuff, but I've never been to his house, nor do I know his parents. I feel really uncomfortable having to spend the night there but I have no real choice.

Cumbria is in the middle of lots of nice scenery. We may have to stop over the night so it means that maybe I can take some nice pictures and also of the university itself.

I'm hoping that Rob wasn't underestimating when he said that it only takes two hours or so to get to Cumbria in a car because any longer and I don't think I could stand it in a car. A train is fine, but I don't feel so good in cars after long periods of time.

I wish I knew someone up there already. Someone who I could go and see. I did want to go see someone in Newcastle, but she's away in Stratford for the weekend which sucks.

Earlier, I went round to my nan's because my mum was there. She gave me �40 for my train fare, which will now be used to pay for a hotel room instead. It's very much needed after spending so much recently.

In other news, I went with Gary on Tuesday to buy him a PC for the warehouse he'll be opening. Before we did though, he spent a few minutes trying to explain to me what he actually wanted me to do. He said that once the warehouse is up and running, he's basically going to want a computerised stock check. In addition, he also wants a website building but nothing special. He said that he'll pay me �250 a week and that �50 of that will go straight to my mum. I'm happy with that.

After that, we went to Staples which is an office store. It was fun buying the PC, even though it's not for me. Afterwards, he took me to the warehouse to show me what it was like. It's rather big. It's completely empty currently. There's not even any electricity and there's lots of rubbish in it which people are moving for him. He said that the store will open in January. He also said that right next door, an MFI is opening up. God only knows how he's going to rival one of the biggest suppliers of home furniture when they're right next door. I know that if I was a customer, I'd probably rather go into MFI than his shop because I know who MFI are. Plus, having seen the workmanship of his furniture, I'd never buy off him. Nothing fits right.

On the way to buy a PC, he was saying how he wanted a website building. I knew that he thought that I'd just happily agree to it without charging him but that wasn't the case. I explained to him that the website would be a seperate charge. He was a little annoyed at that, but that's not my problem. He tried to get me to change my mind by saying that apparantly there's a company that do websites for free.

"For free?", I asked him, not believing him.
"Well, not free. About �180."

They'll probably make bog standard ones with absolutely zero creativity whereas if I design it, it'll look nice. He says he doesn't want anything special, but that doesn't mean that it has to look shit. He says that he just wants some contact information on there with a few pictures so I'm thinking of charging about �100 for it. He also wants me to set the site itself up, i.e. registering the domain name and email addresses which I'll do.

After we'd been the warehouse, we decided that the best place to keep the computer for now was mine. When Gary had left, I unpacked it all and it was like playing with a new toy, even though it's just a PC. It's so nice though compared to mine!

Gary said that from this week, I was employed by him but I bet he won't pay me for this week. I mean, I've not exactly done anything so it'd be quite understandable if he didn't. I just don't like it when he says one thing but does another. For example, he said that he'd be picking me up at 10am so I got up and was ready for 10am but he didn't arrive until 12pm and without calling and letting me know.

Anyway, college tomorrow, although I'm thinking of skipping the morning and just going in for the afternoon so I get enough sleep to be awake for the evening in Rob's instead of falling asleep a little too early.

I'm really looking forward to seeing the university although I don't know why I'm so excited. I mean, it's just going to be a building. I don't quite know what I'm expecting it to be. I do know that from the prospectus and the website that it's the course for me though. I also need to go and visit other universities such as Northumbria, Manchester, Teeside and Bath Spa as these all have good graphic design courses too by the sounds of their prospectuses. God knows where I'm going to get the money from. Maybe this job with Gary I guess, but who knows when that will actually take off.

Back on Sunday!

comment