Pleased
Today was good. Productive.

Laura decided to get the cab again with me to the station this morning. The train journey to town is twenty minutes and just like last time she got it with me, we didn't talk the whole way there. Once in town, she said she needed to go somewhere, and I needed to go somewhere else for a drink. Once out of the shop, I contemplated waiting for her, but then decided not to, since she hadn't shown me the courtesy of doing so. I carried on without her, and got something to eat and by the time I had finished eating, she was already at work when I got there.

I had remembered to bring the business cards I had designed to show Gary and I told him this, saying that I'd show him when he had time. Gary asked Laura to call Chris, as he could get a printer cheap for me, but Chris wasn't answering.

The morning was fairly quiet really. I didn't do much. Strangely, however, the time seemed to go by fairly quickly. Jamie called me at 12:30pm to let me know that he was on his way to the shop to meet me so we could go to college together to pick up our certificates. He got there at 12:50pm, along with Fisher, who I haven't seen for months. Stan was meant to join us as well, but after waiting for him for nearly twenty minutes, we decided to go to college without him, before waiting there for another 20 minutes and still no sign of him so we went upstairs to collect our work from Ed. On our way to the graphics classroom, we met Brian and he seemed as happy as ever, pleased to see us. He said he was glad he had caught me, as it meant that he wouldn't have to phone me to let me know that I was in college next Tuesday at 9am.

Ed wasn't in the graphics classroom so we went to the staffroom but he wasn't there either. Pam was, however and she said he'd be back soon so we waited nearby in a small meeting room and for about 15-20 minutes, regailed each other with things that had happened throughout this year while we were with each other on the course, remembering all of the fun times. Ed turned up after a while and you should of seen the look on his face. It was one of "Oh Christ, not you lot, go away". We explained that we had come to pick up our work so he opened up the graphics classroom so we could get it all and then went to reception to pick up our certificates which sadly, didn't include the one for our final major project. It seems that that will be either sent to me, or that I'll get a letter informing me that it's ready to pick up but I don't see why it can't be ready now, since my work was marked in July!

After that, I waited with Jamie and Fisher at the bus stop for about 30 minutes, before getting bored and going back to the shop. Once there, Laura said that Chris was getting me a printer. I told Gary I'd need card so he gave me some money to go get some. That was pretty much my day in work.

Chris arrived at mine about 9:30pm with the printer and I set it up and printed off some cards. They don't look bad at all, but i'm a perfectionist and i'm not quite happy with them. Still, Gary will be satisfied with them. He asked me to print off 50, but I've only done 20 to make sure he's sure of the design. I'll do the rest tomorrow night.

Gary also asked me to design a sandwich board design for the shop. I'm not quite sure he realises that if he wants me to design it, then I will require payment for it. The business cards I was willing to let go, but then he goes and buys a �25 printer off Chris that's second hand. That's not my idea of payment. I'd rather have �50 in cash. The card designs are worth at least double that, i'm sure. So, if he wants me to design a sandwich board as well, payment will most definitely have to be discussed before I make it.

I was talking to my mum about this when I came home from work. The fact that Gary doesn't seem to realise that i'm not doing this work for free. It IS what i'm supposed to be doing as a profession afterall and it's not like he's strapped for cash. So he most definitely must pay up! My mum was going out with him tonight so she said she'd have a word with him about what I'd said. Good good. I hope he listens and offers me lots of money. Money is good.

comment