Frustrated
I didn't go anywhere in the end, choosing neither to get a haircut or go out for the meal.

I talked to Scarlet last night. She's the girl that I had the special connection with when she messaged me on Faceparty. She said she'd been in New York to see some old relatives and that's why she hadn't been on and also why she wasn't staying on long. However, I managed to talk to her for about 20 minutes.

[03:17:00] Neil: Hope to talk to you sooner next time then. xxx
[03:17:12] this is because i can spell confusion with a k and i like it: i shall look forward to that
[03:17:13] this is because i can spell confusion with a k and i like it: sincerely
[03:17:28] Neil: I feel all special all of a sudden.
[03:17:31] this is because i can spell confusion with a k and i like it: :)
[03:17:48] Neil: Because for some reason, I think you actually mean that. Which is a very nice feeling.
[03:17:48] this is because i can spell confusion with a k and i like it: you are special

It felt like she actually really meant that. That she really did indeed look forward to talking to me again. It felt nice to feel relatively special for a few seconds.

The only real bit of news that this diary needs informing about is the fact that Lisa, a person from Connexions called me today, after my mum had popped in there on my behalf since she was by it. She had told Lisa about my situation and that I would like a job.

According to Lisa, i'm allowed to work 16 hours and remain on income support, which would mean I was able to have a part time job and still claim legitimately. But, the job that I've been on about lately is 35 hours a week. Maybe they have part time jobs?

The reason for her calling was to tell me that she's going to get someone on my case and she'll call back soon to tell me when she's found someone to help me find a job. She said it might be Rachel who will work with me. I've worked with Rachel before. She's the one who found my college course for me. I never actually got round to thanking her for doing that because she went away so I couldn't inform her.

So, within the next few days, there will hopefully be someone helping me out with finding a job over the summer. If I want to keep claiming income support without the hassle of reapplying in September for it then the job has to be less than 16. I just wonder if it'd actually be worth doing it if it was indeed only 16 hours. It might not amount to that much more than income support. Oh, but I guess I'd be able to earn money plus the income support on top, so actually it would be worth it. In doing that packing job, I'd earn over �150 a week. On income support, I get �135 per two weeks and half of that I have to give to my mum.

In regards to that job, as Maddi stated in my guestbook:

"The job you are interested in is in Kirkby. All jobs on the web site have a reference number which starts with 3 letters. For instance KIR for Kirkby, BEV for Belle Vale, GAR for Garston. Sorry if I've pointed out the obvious but you didn't seem to have noticed."

I was thinking this too, which means that I'd actually be VERY close to where it is if it's where I think it'd be. It'd be about a twenty to thirty minute walk to the industrial estate. I wouldn't mind walking there. The incentive would be that �150 a week for four days work at MY kind of hours.

Of course, if that place doesn't have any part time work, then that perfect job kind of goes out the window, since i'm not allowed to do it.

I can either come off the income support altogether, do that job, earn money till September and then reapply for income support. The danger in this is that it's not certain whether I'd be able to get back on it or not and I need that money to get me through college.

Or, with Connexions' help, they can find me a part time job somewhere, allowing me to remain on income support. Somehow, however, I doubt they're going to be able to find me something as perfect as that packing job.

I've just worked out that if I did get a part time job and the pay was crap (which it probably would be, wouldn't it?), I'd be getting around �70 for 16 hours of work. That's nothing compared to the �150 I'd get for the packing job.

It's a bit strange really, isn't it? The way that I seem to want such a mundane job. But it's just so perfect.

Great hours, only four days a week, great pay and right by where I live. I couldn't ask for much better could I? But it's just out of my reach because of my stupid benefits. Hardly seems like a 'benefit' right now but more like an obstacle I can't clear without strong repercussions in September.

Hopefully when I get this help from Connexions and I tell them about this job that I'm really beginning to want, they'll be able to give me advice about whether I should take it or not and maybe they could find out if the place has part time work but the same kind of shifts. If I did work 16 hours at the packing place on the same wage as I would get for full time, I'd get �87. I doubt they'd offer the same kind of wage though if I only worked part time, right?

I could be packing tea bags and coffee till 6am right now. Oh i'm so missing out.

All I need is to take my own milk!

comment