Shocked
On Thursday, I went to college for what is my last ever multimedia lesson this year with Brian. I got there quite early though. On the way up to the class, I handed in my application form for the multimedia course next year.

Although the main door to the classroom was locked, for some reason, the secondary doors weren't so I let myself in the classroom and began working on the portfolio I had to create. The computer at which I usually work at was in a mess. It looked like someone had been having lunch in front of it, as there were crumbs all over the place and an empty sandwich casing. Even though it's not my computer, I think it's quite disgusting that some people don't know how to clear up after themselves when other people have to use that computer. And then you have the more than often case of the screen being covered in grime. It's horrible. Since I use my own computer day in, day out, i'm extremely picky about how it should be set up. Afterall, if i'm going to be sitting in front of a computer, creating and coming up with ideas, should I not be in a comfortable position to do so? I don't feel comfortable unless everything is just right when it comes to computers.

The rest of the class turned up a little while later. Brian asked me if I'd put my application form in and I say I had.

"I've got 22 applications so far", he said.
"How many places are there on the course?"
"15", he replied. I was surprised by this. I thought it would be more. I thought there'd be more than 15 at least.
"Even though you've already got a place, I still have to interview you because it's procedure", he continued. Again, this was also a surprise. He was telling me I was already on the course next year basically! Cool. But he said in it such a way that he thought I understood this already, which I hadn't. But, looks like he's very keen to have me on his course and i'm very grateful.

I completed my portfolio easily. It was incredibly simple. It certainly wasn't anything special or extensive. I didn't have time to do that so I just conjured up something readable and straight forward. I showed it to Brian, telling him that it was very basic and he said it was fine. A little while later, just before people were about to go, he gathered us all around a table and wanted to thank us for being a good class over the last year and he hoped that we'd achieved what we set out to in the beginning. Out of the 9 or so people that are left on the graphics course, i'm the only one who wants to go on to do the multimedia course so he won't see any of the others, which is why he made this little speech. After that, we left, and he said that he'd be in touch with me for my interview.

We went to see Ed just before we left. Stan, Jamie and Fisher had to get their EMA forms signed and I had to give him the essay I had to write. However, after they all had their forms signed and I handed the essay to him, he declined it.

"Has it got images in?", he asked me."No?", I replied, confused.
"No good then"
"...fine"

I love the way he does this. He doesn't actually tell me it NEEDS images in it so I went ahead and done it without. The essay took me about an hour to write out, but is pretty much useless because of what it's about and the fact that incorporating images into it wouldn't help the essay anyway. Thank god i'm rid of Ed in just a few days.

Me and Dave went into town. He wanted to a buy a game. After that I came home to await the big match.

I realise that it's only a football game, but I get very passionate about the European Cup and World Cup when England have a chance at winning it. Since England won against Croatia on Monday, I've been both looking forward to England facing Portugal and dreading it at the same time. Needless to say, I was sat in front of the TV with anticipation, as millions of other fans were too and three minutes after kick off, Owen's goal made life that little bit easier and for most of the match, it looked like we could actually be going through to the semi-finals...and then disaster struck, as England's Wayne Rooney got taken off due to an injury. He's been our saviour and to see him come off the pitch was worrying. And then disaster struck. Portugal gained one back and everyone was mortified. I'm sure for those of you who actually watched it, you need no reminding of what happened. But for the American's and such who read this diary, I'll explain.

After 83 minutes of the 90 minutes allowed, Portugal leveled with England making it 1-1. And then, as all England fans will know, the goal that was a goal was disallowed by a terrible referee in the 90th minute. If he had allowed the goal, we would surely be on our way to the semi-finals. Instead, sadly, we just couldn't clinch that second goal and it went to Extra Time. I was the only one in the living room while I watched. Laura was in her room and my mum was out. My heart was beating so fast and I felt both terrified and excited. And then disaster struck, as Portugal gained their 2nd goal in Extra Time and it felt like it was all over. And then, just as it was looking like England were out, they got one back! And it was all level again.

And then the dreaded penalties.

I couldn't bear to watch, but I did. Seeing that last penalty being taken by Portugal's goalkeeper against ours and going in was...heartbreaking. It really was. And then the resulting dismay of the team and the millions of England fans. Heartbreaking. I felt like crying.

If only the referee had allowed that goal. We were indeed robbed of a win by the referee. So sad. And so England were knocked out of the tournament at a time when we thought we really could go on to win it.

And now, in other news...

At around 11pm that night, my mum called home. She told me she was in my Nana's and that "If Gary rings, tell him i'm ok". I said I would, asking what had happened, but she said everything was fine and that she was staying at my Nana's and said goodbye. Strange.

Yesterday I was supposed to go into college. I haven't got much of an idea why, as Ed wouldn't explain. He just said be in to us all. It was no doubtedly simply to take our work down that was on the wall. Oh and strangely, but very kindly of someone, they had put my work up on the wall. Since I don't know who it was, I couldn't thank them, but I was grateful. However, I wasn't really willing to spend money on getting to college simply to take some work down and then go home. I can't afford to do that. I told Ed this, that I wasn't really sure whether I could come in, as I might not have the money. He looked at me with a bemused face. Again, I explained to him that I don't have the money to do it. He doesn't understand this though. He doesn't realise that I have to pay out quite a bit each day I come to college so whenever possible, I have to save money so I can afford to go when it's neccessary. Again, i'm glad I no longer have him as my tutor after a few more days. He said it was important to be in on Monday though and I will be.

When my mum came home yesterday, I heard her speaking to Laura and she mentioned something about the possibility of her getting compensation. So I inquired further, curious as to what the hell was going on. She came into my room and began to tell me what had happened.

Apparantly, on her way up to the floor where Gary's apartment is, in the lift, it had stopped. Not only stopped, but the lights had gone out in the lift as well between floors. She said that she was shouting and shouting, but no one could hear her. She couldn't press the alarm, because of course, the lights were out and it was pitch black in there. She had a mobile on her, but it's completely shit and doesn't/didn't work for her. Eventually, after around 30 minutes of being stuck in there on her own, a girl and two guys heard her and my mum told them to get Gary, who then called the firm that own the lift. They gave him a number to pin in on the keypad of the lift to get it working again, but of course, since it was pitch black, my mum couldn't see the pad anyway. So, somehow Gary managed to prise the door open a little to allow some light in and then my mum pinned the number in and the lift worked once more. By this time, the fire brigade had arrived and they took a statement from my mum. They also said that they would be contacting the firm about the malfunction because of its serious nature.

And that's just part of my mum's few days of events. It gets better, or worse, rather. Quite disturbing actually...

She had gone out for a drink with my Nana a day or two ago, before or after seeing Gary, i'm not sure, but as they sat there having a drink, Paul turned up. My mum was telling me that she had not been seeing Paul for a short while now and had nothing to do with him, just Gary. She said that she didn't want him sitting next to her, but he did any way. Also, she said that there was one or two guys she knew who were at the bar, also having a drink, looking over to see if everything was ok. And the next part is just surreal...

She said that Paul got up to go and get a pint and then sat back down next to my mum with it. Then, if you can actually believe this, HE THREW THE DRINK IN MY MUM'S FACE. Now WHAT THE FUCK?

As soon as the two guys at the bar saw this, they ran over to where my mum was sitting and hauled Paul out of the pub as fast as they could, throwing him onto the pavement and apparantly kicking him. Inside, my mum was fine, as she's not one to get shaken up at all. She was looking out of the window to see what was happening, as one of the guys came over to her, telling her she didn't need to see that and that it was being dealt with. On the other hand, however, my Nana is an extremely nervy person and got very shook up by it.

I can't believe Paul done that to my mum. How fucking dare he! Of course, my opinion of him being a nice guy has just been completely changed. If he's capable of doing that, I'd hate to think what else he's capable of and as my mum said, compared to her, he's a giant. I mean, he's seriously well built and my mum isn't exactly in a position to defend herself. I'm glad that those two guys she knew were there to take him outside. When my mum told Gary about the incident, he said that he would take care of it. What that means, I don't know. But, I do know that Gary has connections. How far they stretch, I don't think I want to know.

Paul called the house yesterday. According to my mum he had been phoning her mobile and texting her saying he was sorry. When the phone rang, she said if it was him to tell him that she was out. I answered.

"Hello?", I said, down the line.
"...", I just heard background noise of what sounded like a pub.
"Hello??"
"...is Sue there?" It was Paul.
"No, she's out"
"Is she there?", he sounded drunk.
"NO, she's out"
"...just tell her i'm sorry..."
"Ok"
"..."
"Bye"
"..."

So, a very eventful few days for my mum. No one deserves to have a drink thrown in their face.

Today, I went to meet Sarah and we went to go and see The Day After Tomorrow together. Yes, even though she has a boyfriend, we still met up because we had both said that we'd like to see each other one last time and give each other a hug and kiss. However, in the cinema, she said she couldn't kiss me and I was actually completely fine with this so I backed off.

However, what did really annoy me was the fact that as we were leaving and she went to the toilet, she said "So, do you wanna go now?".
"Yeah, i'm gonna go home now. I'm just going the toilet first though", I replied.
"Ok well, I'll talk to you..later or something"

And with that, she went into the toilets. I just found it quite disrespectful that she wasn't willing to simply walk with me, since we were going to be going the same way anyway. I went the toilet and decided that I'd wait for her to come out of the toilets, but when I came out, I waited and waited for her to come out of there, but she didn't, so I assumed that she had already gone. It really annoyed me. I was completely fine with the fact that she had decided that kissing each other one last time was too uncomfortable for her, but to just piss off without even saying goodbye properly, well that's just disrespectful and I'd never do that to anyone. It's just wrong.

Next week will be my last week in college till (hopefully) in September, at which point I will have great grades going onto the multimedia course. Although i'm the only one doing multimedia, it's still in the same college and they're all doing graphics so we'll still all see each other, but a lot less, since we won't be in any classes together. I'm looking forward to the beginning of the course though because i'm hoping that I'll make more friends. And if they're on a multimedia course then surely they'll be at least a bit on my level. This course has been great for making friends and I hope it continues with the next one.

comment